FACULTY
EMERITUS FACULTY
ADMIN STAFF
TEACHING STAFF
LECTURERS
RESEARCH STAFF
TECHNICAL STAFF
SUPPORT STAFF
POSTDOCS
VISITORS

**FACULTY CLOUD** 



Home > People

# John H. Lienhard V

Samuel C. Collins Professor of Mechanical Engineering Director, Center for Clean Water and Clean Energy at MIT and KFUPM

Director, Rohsenow Kendall Heat Transfer Laboratory

Room 3-166 Massachusetts Institute of Technology 77 Massachusetts Avenue Cambridge MA 02139-4307 Phone: 617-253-3790

Email: lienhard@mit.edu

Web: <a href="http://lienhard.scripts.mit.edu/research/">http://lienhard.scripts.mit.edu/research/</a>



## **Administrative Contact:**

Christine Gervais Room 3-164

Phone: 617-324-4939 Email: gervaisc@mit.edu

## **Research Interests**

Desalination; Water Supply; Energy; Heat and Mass Transfer; Fluid Mechanics; Convective Transport; Extremely High Heat Fluxes; Electronics Thermal Management

## **Teaching Interests**

Heat and Mass Transfer (2.51, 2.55)

Desalination (2.500)

Modeling and Approximation in Thermal Systems (2.52)

Measurement and Instrumentation

Free electronic textbook: <u>A Heat Transfer Textbook, Fourth Edition</u> Instrumentation Textbook: <u>Mechanical Measurements, Sixth Edition</u>

# **Education**

1982, BS in Engineering, Concentration in Thermal Engineering Department of Chemical, Nuclear, and Thermal Engineering University of California, Los Angeles (Summa Cum Laude)

1984, MS, Heat and Mass Transfer Department of Chemical, Nuclear, and Thermal Engineering University of California, Los Angeles

1988, PhD, Fluid Dynamics
Department of Applied Mechanics and Engineering Sciences



University of California, San Diego

## **Honors and Awards**

1988, Presidential Young Investigator Award, NSF

1991, Best Paper Award, 26th ASME/AIChE National Heat Transfer Conference

1992, Ralph R. Teetor Award, SAE

1993, Ruth and Joel Spira Teaching Award, MIT School of Engineering

1994, Graduate Student Council Teaching Award, MIT

1997, R&D 100 Award

1999, Carl R. Soderberg Distinguished Service Award, MIT

2000, Fellow of ASME

2003, Den Hartog Distinguished Educator Award, MIT

2008, Samuel C. Collins Chaired Professorship

2011, Best Paper Award, IDA World Congress on Desalination & Water Reuse

2012, ASME Technical Communities Globalization Medal

## **Some Positions Held**

Editorial Board, Desalination: October 2011-present

Editorial Board, Frontiers in Heat and Mass Transfer. April 2010-present

Editorial Board, Desalination and Water Treatment: January 2009-present

Director, Center for Clean Water and Clean Energy at MIT and KFUPM, June 2008-present (CCWCE)

Associate Department Head for Education, Department of Mechanical

Engineering: July 2008-April 2012

Undergraduate Officer, Department of Mechanical Engineering: July 2005 - April 2012

ABET Accreditation Coordinator of ME Department: July 2005 - June 2008

Head, Division of Fluids, Energy, and Transport: August 2001 - July 2005

Editorial Board, Journal of Heat Transfer: 2003 - 2006

Editorial Board, Acta Mechanica: 2003 - 2011

Chairman, ME Faculty Hiring Committee: August 2001 - July 2005

Chairman, ME Strategic Planning Committee: September 1997 - July 2000

Director, Rohsenow Kendall Heat Transfer Laboratory: July 1997 - present

Editorial Board, Experimental Heat Transfer. March 1995 - present

State Implementation Plan Steering Cmt. for Air Quality, Massachusetts DEP:

August 1994 - present (Air quality)

Hatsopoulos Professor: July 1988 - June 1991

Joined MIT Faculty: January 1988

## **Memberships**

American Society of Mechanical Engineers

American Association for the Advancement of Science

International Desalination Association

PE Registration, Massachusetts

Tau Beta Pi

Scientific Council of the International Centre for Heat and Mass Transfer

back to top